Slice of Life

My back and head rested comfortably on the softest, greenest grass I had ever touched.

“Certainly this grass is so different from the one we have in the D.R.” I said. This lawn was certainly my favorite part of my relative’s house.

I looked up. The sky was blue and there were lots of massive clouds rolling in.

I smiled.

I smiled because this whole scene reminded me of that one afternoon circa 1990 when Debbie and I did the same thing–– we lay on her patio’s concrete floor. That day we looked up as well; we saw the clouds forming shapes of elephants and turtles. We laughed with silly laughs, and with this experience, we established a friendship the way kids do–– with unspoken words. That day we created the first memory that would go to our shared memory bank, one that I would remember decades later while lying down on the softest, greenest grass. Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

730f3-screen2bshot2b2015-05-262bat2b11-58-242bam

2 thoughts on “Slice of Life

  1. A lovely connection made between different times in your life. Your description of the beginning of your friendship was perfect- we established a friendship the way kids do–– with unspoken words- this rings so true..

Leave a Reply

