Guard (y)our heart

 

2013-05-28_0002

A few days ago, the Lord  brought to my mind Proverbs 4:23 “Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.” 

One thing  I have noticed is how prompt we are to remind people (and ourselves) of this verse; especially when they’re facing uncertainty or are awaiting for something big (and good) to happen. We say,  “Guard your heart!”, partly because we don’t want to see them disappointed if their wish doesn’t come true.

Yet, I feel sometimes we forget about who we are and what our heart is. We forget that we are weak people in need of grace, and we forget that our heart is wicked. While I do agree that it’s our responsibility to make sure our hearts and thoughts are not trespassing into whatever is false, dishonorable, unjust, impure, unlovely, unworthy territory…we must also acknowledge that without Christ we are nothing.

That was a major realization I had the other day. The Spirit brought that verse into my mind, but right away I found myself totally unable to keep my heart in my own strength. “Help me, Lord! I cannot keep my heart” I cried out.

And so He came to my rescue.

Life is always better when we fight battles next to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

