Celebrating life

This is the day that the LORD has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it

(Psalm 118:24)

2013-03-28_0007.jpg

Sometimes you just gotta get away.

This morning I woke up earlier than usual. Not having any specific plan for the day except for studying, I decided I would pack fruits, a bottle of water, and put on my swimsuit. I jumped in my car and drove for what seemed forever. An hour and some minutes later I didn’t know what my exact current location was, so I stopped at the nearest gas station to ask for directions.

I asked the lady at the store about the whereabouts of my final destination. She looked at me and didn’t know what to tell me. So I asked her, “Where’s Metro Country Club?” I figured that if I could find that, I’d be alright. And then she said it was about 700 meters away.

So I jumped back in my car and drove. She was right. Metro Country Club was there…but everything I could see what the rear entrance. Now I knew I was lost.

So I kept driving. Fifteen minutes later, I had reached my destination: the beach.

Lonely beach on a beautiful day.

2013-03-28_0005.jpg

I was just happy I could finally spend some time in the Word with Jesus.

2013-03-28_0017.jpg

The sound of the crashing waves, the sun kissing my skin, and the wind embracing me while I sat on the white sand…

Yes, it was a gorgeous day.

2013-03-28_0004.jpg

2013-03-28_0002.jpg

While I was walking back to my car, I found this hunk walking trotting on the beach– life jacket and all ūüėÄ Soooo cute!!

2013-03-28_0003.jpg

Today I’m thankful not only because I have a car, for the ability to drive, the amazing gift of living on a beautiful island, and the opportunity to get away. I celebrate ¬†Jesus because even though He was rejected by men (and by me), He has become the cornerstone of my salvation. “This is the Lord’s doing; it is marvelous in our eyes” (Mark 12:10-11; Psalm 118:22).¬†Jesus went to Gethsemane and prayed three times, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for you. Remove this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will”. The Father knew there was no other way for us to be saved…so I want to thank Jesus for laying down His life for me. Today I celebrate that all things are possible for God, and through Jesus’ sacrifice now I’m free. ¬†I’m alive. God’s plan is always better. (Yes, Katherine…ALWAYS!) ALL things are possible for God!

And… as if I didn’t have enough to be thankful for today…

An added bonus: today I met my new baby brother!

2013-03-28_0018.jpg

Yes, this is the Lord’s doing. Let’s rejoice and be glad in Him.

Leave a Reply

