Treasures in the ocean

When we were kids, our memories used to be exercised frequently. Think of it– how many of your friends’ and relatives’ phone numbers did you memorize? We had almost no choice-it was either memorizing them or walking around with a mini phone book. Usually the latter wasn’t a practical idea.
A long time has passed since then, and well, things have changed. I know some people who have trouble remembering their own cellphone number 😉

In this technology era where it seems our ability for memorization is fading away, memorizing a complete book of the Bible seems like is a daunting task.

“Let’s memorize the book of Philippians!”, we said last Monday at my small group meeting. And we all happily agreed to it. Little did we know what kind of adventure we were getting ourselves into.

In one week I’ve memorized roughly seven verses. Not that bad! Actually, I’m surprised I’ve been able to get this far without complaining about the difficulty of this assignment. The Word of God is alive and gives us life. In this short week, I’ve rediscovered that every word of Scripture is necessary for our understanding of who God is, who we are, and what His gospel means.

Last week as I was driving to work, I repeated the words of the first verses of the epistle. “Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints who are at Philippi…”. I realized I kept saying it wrong. I was leaving some words out. So I had to try it one more time…
“Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints IN CHRIST JESUS who are at Philippi…”. Finally, I got it right! And then it dawned on me. The Holy Spirit made it clear to me: I cannot be a saint without Jesus. I am holy in Him. His righteousness clothes me. I cannot grow in holiness without Jesus. I can’t live the Christian life (let alone memorize a book!) without Christ.

Did I know this before? Of course! Do I live conciously of this truth? Not so much…

So this is what keeps me going. This is what keeps me memorizing His Word: the knowing that as I embark in this journey through Philippians, I will find rich treasures in the vast ocean of His gospel that will transform me and make me more like Him.

Lord, I cannot do this without You. Fill me with Your Word.

2013-03-25_0001.jpg

One thought on “Treasures in the ocean

Leave a Reply

