I don’t know what I have been doing all this time

My jaw dropped.

Image

Last night and for several minutes my jaw dropped as I watched a video that told the story of a tribe in Indonesia receiving the New Testament for the first time.

Please watch.

The fact that God has looked into the world and the different languages and chosen which one will be put into His word is clearly amazing. But what humbles me is the fact that God chose that I would be born in a Spanish speaking culture which (in His perfect plan) has already His word translated into thislanguage.

What have I been doing all this time? I’ve been taking that for granted.

I mean, think about it.

God saw all the languages in the world and said,

“I will have my living Word translated into…Spanish, English, French…”

And then He said,

“I will have Katherine, and Emely, and Juana, and Jean… speak this language and have full access to my Word”

I wonder what have we been doing all this time…

Lord Jesus, my heart grieves over my sin. These people cried tears of joy at receiving Your word. I cry tears of shame. Forgive me for not appreciating YOU. For not treasuring Your Word. Other things are more precious to me than what You’ve said.  I plead please help me. Help me to love, cherish, thank, fully understand the worth of, and fully live by Your word as if it was my food and my drink. I want to sing  and cry of delight in knowing that by Your grace I’m forgiven, alive, and among the most blessed people in the world to receive Your word.

Your words were found, and I ate them,
and your words became to me a joy
and the delight of my heart,
for I am called by your name,
O Lord, God of hosts.

(Jeremiah 15:16)

One thought on “I don’t know what I have been doing all this time

Leave a Reply

