Fight for the ultimate joy

I don’t know if it’s just me, but I’ve found myself lately being too distracted. Too much work, too much going on at the same time. And I wonder if this is what life is supposed to be like. If this is how God meant it to be.

Deep down at the bottom of things, when everything’s been said and done, I believe every Christian is deeply into a fight for the ultimate joy. It’s the way we’ve been wired. We were made to be in communion with God–to be deeply satisfied in Him. Yet, even as Christians, how often do we find ourselves in the battle of the lesser pleasure vs. the best pleasures. I wonder how many times a day I choose good things instead of striving and waiting for the best thing. How many times do I rush through a blog post, take quick decisions, and pretty much get impatient about little things here and there. I wonder how many times I’ve checked my Facebook or Twitter “real quick” before deciding to actually get on my knees or read Scripture to get a better glimpse of my God? I find myself fighting to choose between new, transient information which gives us a quick adrenaline shot…and the riches of the everlasting knowledge of God.

C.S. Lewis once wrote in his book “The Weight of Glory”, 

Indeed, if we consider the unblushing promises of reward and the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the Gospels, it would seem that Our Lord finds our desires, not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.

 

Too easily pleased.

God meant for life to be full. But full of Him. Of the only One who doesn’t leave us panting for more. Of the only One who is actually the ultimate joy.

Please God, give me stronger desires. I am far too weak, far too easily pleased. Help me fight this fight.Image

 Give me You.

Leave a Reply

