These strange mercies

Hospitals are usually places that recall uneasy feelings in most people’s minds. And when you’re forced to go, the experience is usually a very unpleasant one. Yet, if a sick person understands how the uncomfortable (the hospital) is the means to getting better, then it makes the whole hospital ordeal a more bearable place.

And so ended 2011 to give way to 2012. At the very end of the year there were lots of “inconveniences” (mom’s poor health, uncertainties of the future, new and unexpected learning experiences…). These were God-brought situations that were not in my agenda. Trials and tears that eventually have given way to deeper joy. I recognize that if the Lord had not placed me in the valley of tears, I would not have experienced His personal care and love towards me the way I recently have. Sickness, lack of resources, unmet desires…have all been used by God to keep me in this journey with Him with gladness. They have been shut doors that have led me to better window views. And what’s more, these strange mercies of mine have helped me recover a clear perspective of God’s purpose for me is–– “Be still and know that I am God.”
It’s good to be in the fire of trials if it’s the place designed by God for me in the present time. Where I am, what I’m doing, and what I’m becoming is God’s grace for me. And I can only have peace about it. I’m learning that this life is not only sadness, nor only happiness. It’s more a bittersweet thing. When we get to heaven, everything will be complete.
“Grace is the fact that God will take you to places you didn’t intend to go in order to produce in you what you could not achieve on your own” (Paul Tripp)
One thought on “These strange mercies

  1. I might’ve arrived a little late to this post, but it brought to mind a book I read that talks about God’s grace through difficult circumstances: A Severe Mercy -Sheldon Vanauken. I think you might like it. It’s biographical and it contains many letters by CS Lewis.

Leave a Reply

