Enemies of contentment: Our ideal timing

I’m sure all of us have an ideal plan in our heads of  how things should go in our lives. For most of us, something in the back of our minds tells us that life should be run on our specific timeline. For instance,

  • I will graduate from college when I’m 23
  • Land a good job after graduation
  • Do my masters
  • Get married when I’m 25
  • Have my first child two years after I get married

And the list goes on and on…

Yet how often we forget that GOD has full dominion over our lives! And oh, how discontent we grow when things don’t go our way, or when they’re timed differently by the One who knows best. Here’s a good quote that might help us all,

God’s sense of timing will confound ours, no matter what culture we’re from. His grace rarely operates according to our schedule. When Jesus looks at Jairus and says, “Trust me, be patient,” in effect he is looking over Jairus’s head at all of us and saying, “Remember how when I calmed the storm I showed you that my grace and love are compatible with going through storms, though you may not think so? Well, now I’m telling you that my grace and love are compatible with what seem to you unconscionable delays.” It’s not “I will not be hurried even though I love you”; it’s “I will not be hurried because I love you. I know what I’m doing. And if you try to impose your understanding of schedule and timing on me, you will struggle to feel loved by me.” (Tim Keller’s “Kings Cross” , pg. 63)

Knowing that it’s because He loves us shall keep our hearts safe under our Father’s wings. When the devil comes to tempt you to be discontent, remind him of God’s love and provision which have been evident in your life. Remember that the Lord is always good, and He is NEVER late.

Leave a Reply

