The attractive pearl of contentment

Dave Harvey, in his book “Rescuing Ambition” helped me  balance my understanding of contentment and ambition. All theology aside, I really love his writing style and how he’s so down-to-earth with this topic.

Since I figure that he will state this better than I ever could, I will proceed with some good quotes  about what contentment is:

  • “Contentment means being satisfied and at peace with God’s will in all situations”
  • “Godly contentment has to be more than being thankful you’re better off than someone else […] True contentment comes by comparing what we have to what our sins deserve. That means we find it in the gospel.

The more absorbed I am in the gospel, the more grateful I become in the midst of my circumstances, whatever they may be…When I look at any circumstance that God apportions me, I am first grateful for the wrath I am not receiving in that moment…Secondly, I am grateful for the blessings that are given to me instead of His wrath. This two-layered gratitude disposes my heart to give thanks in all things and it also lends a certain intensity to my giving thanks” (Milton Vincent as quoted by Dave Harvey)

Finally here’s my favorite quote. It’s Sinclair Ferguson as quoted by Harvey,

  • “Christian contentment…is the direct fruit of having no higher ambition than to belong to the Lord and to be totally at His disposal in the place He appoints, at the time He chooses, with the provision He is pleased to make”

Are you craving for contentment yet? I know I am!

Leave a Reply

