A prayer on being hurt by my idols and being healed by Jesus


But a Samaritan, as he journeyed, came to where he was, and when he saw him, he had compassion. He went to him and bound up his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he set him on his own animal and brought him to an inn and took care of him.  And the next day he took out two denarii and gave them to the innkeeper, saying, ‘Take care of him, and whatever more you spend, I will repay you when I come back.’ (Luke 10:33-35)

Lord,

I want to draw near to you through Jesus’ sacrifice. He died for me in my place. Lord Jesus, this morning I want to meditate on the great exchange you made for me out of love. You took God’s wrath for me even though you knew that in the last few days I’d choose to be more interested in facebooking and world events, than in seeking your face and rejoicing in the upcoming wedding supper of the Lamb. My idols of comfort and pleasure have been seeking ways to distract my mind and my heart from you. My idols drain me of energy and leave me bruised and hurt, with empty hands in the middle of this life’s road. Jesus, please be my Good Samaritan. Your law has passed by me, and my friends can do nothing to help me. You are the only one who looks on my sin with compassion, and, aware of my pain, you are moved to bind up my wounds. You dry up my tears and care for my soul. You are willing to pay the price to cover my spiritual nakedness. You exchanged my suffering for yours, your justice for my unfaithfulness.
I don’t want to make any promises, but rather, to believe in yours. Please, give me faith to believe that there’s no better doctor  than you, that there’s no more beautiful Savior, or friend than you. In this way, when I appreciate you and your work for me, I will love you the most and more than anything else…and the idols of my heart will not be a hindrance in your presence.
I am weak.
Will you help me?
Amen

Leave a Reply

