My heart went out to Haiti

My heart went out to Haiti for the first time a year ago. It was so excited. It was so afraid. An earthquake had destroyed the city– my heart did not know what to expect.

My heart went out to Haiti a year ago. It broke when it found kids everywhere with no mom and dad, and with barely enough food to eat every other day.

My heart went out to Haiti a year ago. It leapt and cried for joy when it heard orphans sing  “Jesus loves me, yes I know” even though the earthquake  took their homes and left them in the streets. But it never took away their faith in God.

My heart went out to Haiti a year ago. It marveled at and enjoyed its beautiful beaches, and the warm spirit of its people.

My heart went out to Haiti a year ago. It learned so many lessons. Those kids taught it that God is never late and there’s always a reason to smile and hope.

My heart went out to Haiti a year ago. I left it there with those amazing kids. They’re hugging and loving it, melting it with cute questions.

My heart went out to Haiti a year ago and did not come home with me.  I miss it dearly. I can’t wait to go back and meet it there!

2 thoughts on “My heart went out to Haiti

  1. So precious! I am so glad the Lord has put Haiti on your heart so strongly. I can’t wait for you to bo again!! I love you!

Leave a Reply

