Joy and tears

The phone rang on the other end of the line.
I waited.
I waited for her to pick up the phone.

And when she finally did, my tears were on the verge of pouring down.

How long had it been since we last talked?

How long since we last hugged at church?

“I miss you, Rita!”, I said.

What a joy it was to hear her on the other side of the phone,

doing great on the other side of the world.

“I miss you too, Kat”, she said.

Joy and tears mixed together.

My heart raced and stopped. Raced and stopped.

“To love is to suffer. To journey through  love is to journey through sadness”(Paul  Miller)

This broken world full of paradoxes. Turns out you can’t be totally happy without this small aching in your heart.

Yet in heaven, (oh, in heaven!) we will feast together at our Father’s table.

5 thoughts on “Joy and tears

  1. I didn’t know you had a blog!! I’m happy to have found it!!! I will have to keep up with your writings now!!! 🙂

  2. awww Kat you just made me cry 😥 but I know exactly what you mean! it is a joy for me to be here with my husband but still, there are moments when I’m by myself or even with my new family, when I miss my mom or when I miss my church family. But in all we must look to Christ and find complete joy in Him. and like you said hope in eternity where we will rejoice together and praise our God and Father for ever and ever!
    love you dearly my sister!!

Leave a Reply

