Where are you from, again?

When people tell me…

“So you’re from the States, right? Or probably you were born here and were raised there.”

Then I might roll my eyes and say,

“Nope. I was born and raised here. I’m Dominican all the way.”

While it isn’t the first time I’ve been told that, it still bothers me. I wish the conversation would go another way…like this:

“You’re obviously not from around here. What’s your citizenship?”

“I’m a Christian– a citizen of heaven”

There’s nothing wrong with people getting confused about my citizenship. I just wish that my other citizenship would be recognized more easily…

2 thoughts on “Where are you from, again?

Leave a Reply

