A few thoughts on…Genesis

This is the first post in the series of Bible reading which I have titled “A few thoughts on…” in which I will try to briefly (as briefly as I can!) explain some lessons I’ve learned at the end of each book of the Bible I read.  I am hoping this series will challenge your mind, kindle your emotions for God and His gospel, and lead you to passionate action for God and His kingdom.
I don’t think I can’t tell you enough how excited I am, and how much more in love with God and His word through the reading of Scripture. I just finished reading the book of Genesis, and I think I have never enjoyed a book as much as I have this one. True, there are lots of weird names and unrecognizable places, but it’s amazing to see God at work in the lives of people who do not deserve it.

So here are a few thoughts on the book of Genesis: Origins and a Promise

1. God is faithful no matter how unfaithful we are. In Genesis 2:15-17 he promised Adam that if he took from the fruit, he would surely die. Adam ate; he died. In 3:15 God promised a Savior, and Jesus eventually came. He promised a land and an offspring to Abraham, and Abraham got Canaan and Isaac. God is in motion. NOTHING- not even our sin, barrenness, fear, or people’s failures, can stop Him! Woohoo!
2. Abraham, Isaac and Jacob…three major examples in the Bible, were total failures apart from God’s unending grace.
Think of Abraham (liar), Isaac (parenting issues), and Jacob (a deceiver and fearful man). Not nice! Yet God’s grace made them who they were. So there’s hope for you and me!
3. God changes people.
Think of Judah, for example- one of the big brothers with a very bad pedigree: proposes the idea of selling his brother Joseph to the Ishmaelites (37:26-27), slept with his daughter-in-law for he thought she was a prostitute (38:15), two of his sons died, and was very self-righteousness (28:24). But something happened. Twenty years later, when the brothers need to take little brother Benjamin back to Egypt so that they can prove they’re not spies, Judah offers himself as a substitute. When Benjamin is almost taken as slave in Egypt, his speech for his brother’s sake is memorable. The man who once sold his brother Joseph into slavery was now willing to take on responsibility and endure pain for the sake of his brother and his father’s life.
If God could change him, then it is possible for us. What a GREAT encouragement this is!
I think this brother explains it better than I ever could.
4. God’s promises are there to sustain us. This goes along with #1, but I want to point it out here. If God promised something, we can rest assure that He will do it. I don’t know how else to say this to make it sound as significant as it is. Through reading Genesis, I thought to myself that I should learn and memorize God’s promises. They fueled Abraham’s faith for 25 years while waiting in God for a son. I bet they can help us endure these temporary afflictions.
5. God is more gracious, patient, merciful and forgiving than I am. That’s for sure.
6. “ALL of God’s Word is breathed out and profitable for…training in righteousness.” Having said that, genealogies are a true blessing! (more on that in another post)
I wish I could unpack here everything I have learned and written down, but that would make a long post. God is so good, so loving and kind that He is always willing to give of His Spirit to show Jesus in His Word. It’s His work, and it is perfect.
Stay tuned for the continuation of this series at the end of  this month on the book of Exodus!
One thought on “A few thoughts on…Genesis

Leave a Reply

