John 2:4-5

Jesus’ words to his mother might seem harsh and disrespectful. But they hardly were. Jesus calling Mary “woman” instead of  “mother” as we all would expect, was not dishonoring in the jewish culture. I was meditating this morning on the fact that when Mary was concerned about something, she ran to Jesus and asked him for help.


How dependant am I to ask him whatever and anything in prayer?


Yet Jesus’ response struck me…it was as if he rebuked her.  John Wesley in his comentary writes:



“What is it to me and thee?”- A mild reproof of her inordinate concern and untimely proposal. “Mine hour has not come”- the time of my working this miracle. May we not learn hence, if his mother was rebuked for attempting to direct him in the days of his flesh  how absurd it is to address her as if she had a right to command him, on the throne of his glory? Likewise how indicent of us to direct his supreme wisdom, as to the time or manner in which he shall appear for us in any exigencies of life! (emphasis mine)


Then Mary understood the message: she was to be still. The greek word that’s translated “whatever” denotes that she wasn’t sure of what he was about to do about the issue. But she trusted him.


May I like Mary, learn from Jesus’ reproofs and wait upon the Lord…silently, watching Him work and being willing to obey “whatever he says unto me”.


Lord, this is about me going to You and humbling myself, leaving my concerns in Your hands. This is about not trying to boss You around, even as I wait for an answer. How often have I demanded Your help and guidance, instead of pleading for it like a beggar who understands his unworthiness? This is about silently waiting for You to work in Your own beautiful timing and manner.


Thank Your for leading me this way today.

6 thoughts on “John 2:4-5

  1. what can i say except a quiet, humble, convicted amen? and the same to the NA messages – the 2 i’ve listened to already were so challenging that i think i need to hear them again. and then maybe one day all the rich opportunity and teaching i’ve been given will bear as much fruit as it should!

  2. Hello Ms. Katherine,You made your site simple yet elegant. I see that Jesus is foremost in your mind as you go about your daily activities. Now is a good time to become acquainted with his Father, the one true God, Jehovah. I want to help people to really get to know God, especially in these troubled times. Here is an important message from Him for all of us from the Bible: “And the word of Jehovah continued to occur to me, saying… ‘An end, the end, has come upon the four extremities of the land. Now the end is upon you, and I must send my anger against you, and I will judge you according to your ways and bring upon you all your detestable things. And my eye will not feel sorry for you, neither will I feel compassion, for upon you I shall bring your own ways, and in the midst of you your own detestable things will come to be; and YOU people will have to know that I am Jehovah.’ ” (Ezekiel 7:1-4) (New World Translation)

Leave a Reply

