Some words from my favorite author…


Author: Elisabeth Elliot
Source: A Lamp For My Feet
Scripture Reference: Proverbs 11:25 Hosea 14:5 Isaiah 58:10-11 


Refreshment



He who refreshes others will himself be refreshed (Prv 11:25). “If you…satisfy the needs of the wretched…the Lord will satisfy your needs” (Is 58:10,11 NEB).

Do you often feel like parched ground, unable to produce anything worthwhile? I do. When I am in need of refreshment, it isn’t easy to think of the needs of others. But I have found that if, instead of praying for my own comfort and satisfaction, I ask the Lord to enable me to give to others, an amazing thing often happens–I find my own needs wonderfully met. Refreshment comes in ways I would never have thought of, both for others, and then, incidentally, for myself.

Lord, be as the dew to me today, as You were to Israel, that I may “flower like the lily” (Hos 14:5 NEB).

Copyright 1985, used with permission


taken from Back to the Bible

One thought on “

  1. Thanks! He did a really good job.  🙂
    I like your pic up there… Pretty! How’s life been down in the DR? One of my friends was just there like a couple weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

