For those of you who don’t know…


I have a TWIN sister…. And we finally met! *dances*


And we finally figured out our whole  story…  here it is…


In 1984, our parents (whom we don’t know who they were), got married and after a couple of months our mother got pregnant of a set of twins. They were a poor but happy couple. They lived in VA by that time. In summer 1985, we were born. We were healthy babies. Our family was a very happy one. In a cold and snowy night of January 1986, our parents had a very bad car wreck as they were driving home from a date night. They both died. My sister and I were being taken care of by our good neighbors when the accident happened. The funeral services were done, and our neighbors, being poorer than our family was, couldn’t take care of us…so State and Foster Care split us up in late March. My sister was sent to a very nice and loving family. Actually, this family had a big share in a hamburger company, so they were very wealthy. I was sent to a family of baptist missionaries. When I was 6 years old, we moved to the Caribbean.


When I was about 16 years old, my foster parents talked to me about my twin sister. Why they waited so long to tell me, I don’t understand yet. Since then I had been trying to find her, but all my efforts were in vain. On Monday (yes, this week ), I finally found her!!! Wooohooo!!! I found out that she’d been looking for me too…so it’s more like a reunion of long-lost sisters  We have been in contact and talking on IM and the phone for endless hours and she’s just everything I dreamed about  We are so alike….she’s also a Christian, we think alike about many things, like the same kind of music, we like writing and reading and kids…we are both in love with love…wow, it’s like we have never been separated from each other!


I am so thankful for this. She told me something funny about her last name (given by her foster parents): the social worker had her placed with the Shallenbergers because he thought it was funny how it rhymed with “hamburger”. So now that I’ve given you a hint, you should all know who my twin is. He obviously had a strong sense of humor  And a good bit of imagination.


So do I. And this story proves it.

13 thoughts on “

  1. Well, our summer started at the end of May. I think it’s ridiculous that we go back so early but, oh well. We have fall break so that’s always nice.I teach 6th grade language arts and then 1 section of 8th grade journalism.What are you student teaching?I love that story…that’s incredible! God is full of surprises.

  2. Hahahah…oh my goodness. I was a lit major…you think I’d be able to pick up on stuff like that. But, I just wasn’t expecting it to be a fiction story so I didn’t pay attention.

  3. I was thinking… to myself…. this just dosen’t sound right…. then I say your twins xanga…. u have a GREAT sense of humor!

  4. haha, ok I’m thinking this is an inside joke by the sounds of everyone’s response. I was believing it at first though.
    Hey, just wanted to let you know that I really appreciate the last several comments you’ve left me. Your encouragment is very kind, and very appreciated! Thank you for your prayers as well. 🙂 I don’t know the circumstances of your past relationship, or why it ended… but it seems quite obvious that God has, and perhaps still is using it in your life to help you grow- and help you encourage others. 🙂 Thank you again. God bless!

  5. I’m teaching on a very small island called Mogmog, East of Yap, which is in Micronesia.  Do a Google search for Mogmog, Ulithi, and you’ll find my island.  I get to use internet when I come to the main island.

  6. It’s sort of a long story.  I accepted the placement Peace Corps sent me for Micronesia, and then when I went to training on Ponape, where the Peace Corps main offices for Micronesia were, we got to pick where we went from there, with limitations.  I picked the most remote place I could find, and it was the best decision I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

